How Should I Watch Naruto Shippuden in Order?

by Alice

Naruto Shippuden, following the journey of Naruto Uzumaki from a boisterous adolescent into a heroic ninja, is filled with intense battles, deep personal connections, and a quest for acceptance and peace. The series spans 500 episodes, numerous movies, and OVAs, making it a substantial undertaking for new and returning fans. This comprehensive guide will help you navigate through the complexities of the series’ watching order.

Detailed Episode Guide

Naruto Shippuden can be divided into several major story arcs, each contributing significantly to the main storyline:


1. Kazekage Rescue Mission (Episodes 1-32)

Overview: This arc focuses on the rescue of Gaara, the Kazekage, who is captured by the Akatsuki. It sets the stage for the series and introduces important antagonists.


Key Episodes: Watch all episodes, especially episodes 1, 15, and 32 for critical developments.


2. Sasuke and Sai Arc (Episodes 33-53)

Overview: This arc introduces Sai, exploring his complex relationship with Naruto and Sakura, as well as Naruto’s ongoing desire to reconnect with Sasuke.


Key Episodes: Episodes 33, 48, and 52 are crucial for understanding the dynamics of Team Kakashi.

3. Hidan and Kakuzu Arc (Episodes 72-88)

Overview: This story arc is significant for its darker tone and the introduction of two menacing Akatsuki members, Hidan and Kakuzu.

Key Episodes: Episodes 82 and 85 are must-watch as they contain pivotal battles and character developments.

4. Itachi Pursuit Mission (Episodes 113-143)

Overview: This arc delves into the hunt for Itachi Uchiha, bringing complex revelations and key backstories of the Uchiha clan.

Key Episodes: Episodes 135 and 139 provide deep insights into Itachi and Sasuke’s relationship.

see also: Who is the Best Character in Naruto?

5. Pain’s Assault (Episodes 152-175)

Overview: One of the most pivotal arcs, focusing on Pain’s attack on the Hidden Leaf Village and the dramatic evolution of Naruto.

Key Episodes: Episodes 162 and 165-168 are essential for their epic battles and emotional depth.

6. Five Kage Summit (Episodes 197-221)

Overview: As tensions rise among the ninja world, this arc explores diplomacy and betrayal among the Kage.

Key Episodes: Watch episodes 200 and 219 for major political and action sequences.

7. Fourth Great Ninja War (Episodes 261-479)

Overview: The culmination of many series’ threads, this extensive arc features the most significant battles and strategic maneuvers in the ninja world.

Key Episodes: Episodes 322, 348, and 375 are critical for their spectacular showdowns and reveals.

Filler Breakdown

While fillers are often skipped, some arcs and episodes offer worthwhile content that can enrich the viewer’s experience. Here’s a breakdown of filler arcs worth watching:

Twelve Guardian Ninja (Episodes 54-71): Explores Naruto’s connection to a past Hokage.

The Six-Tails Unleashed (Episodes 144-151): Provides deeper insight into Jinchuriki.

Paradise Life on a Boat (Episodes 223-242): Light-hearted episodes that give a break from the intense main storyline.

Movies and OVAs Integration

Incorporating movies and OVAs at the right time can enhance the story’s depth:

Naruto Shippuden the Movie: Bonds – Watch after episode 70 for a thematic tie-in to the ongoing story about comradeship and betrayal.

The Will of Fire – Fits well after episode 121, echoing the themes of willpower and legacy shown in the series at this point.


Watching Naruto Shippuden is a commitment that offers immense rewards in terms of character growth, intricate storytelling, and epic battles. By following the guide above, viewers can experience the series in a meaningful way, ensuring they capture all the important moments and understand the vast world of Naruto.

Whether you choose to watch every episode, including fillers, or streamline your viewing by focusing only on the main arcs and movies, Naruto Shippuden offers a rich, immersive experience that resonates with themes of friendship, resilience, and redemption.


1. Should I start with Naruto before watching Naruto Shippuden?

Yes, it’s highly recommended to watch the original “Naruto” series first as it sets up the backstory, character development, and major plot points that are crucial for understanding “Naruto Shippuden.”

2. What is the correct order to watch Naruto Shippuden?

You should watch “Naruto Shippuden” starting from Episode 1 and continue through to Episode 500. This series follows the events of “Naruto” and covers the continuation of Naruto Uzumaki’s story as he trains to become the strongest ninja and find his friend Sasuke.

3. Are there any filler episodes in Naruto Shippuden that I can skip?

“Naruto Shippuden” includes a significant number of filler episodes that don’t contribute to the main storyline. You can choose to skip these if you prefer a more streamlined story. Websites like Anime Filler List provide a detailed guide on which episodes are filler.

4. What should I do after finishing Naruto Shippuden?

After completing “Naruto Shippuden,” you can continue Naruto’s story by watching “Boruto: Naruto Next Generations,” which follows the adventures of Naruto’s son, Boruto, and the next generation of ninjas from the Hidden Leaf Village.


You may also like


Welcome to, where vibrant worlds collide with captivating stories. Immerse yourself in a kaleidoscope of emotions as you explore a curated collection of the finest anime. Your journey into the extraordinary begins here

Copyright © 2024